The Stench

Gulshan Banas (II Year)

The following poem is a reflection on my personal experience of child sexual abuse and how it has impacted my identity.

Rats lie in the corners of my home

These corners, untouched by sunshine

Barely alive and filthy

For years, are reeking

Of same and fear.

Under my comfortable pillows and beneath the steaming cup of coffee.

These dark corners of my home

Exist somewhere, known yet forgotten

My home, with its large windows

Is filled with light and colours

It’s bright and welcoming.

The dark corners of my home lie hidden

Behind the bookshelves, beneath the bed

My dark memories, like filthy emaciated rats

Lie hidden in these corners

Their stench suppressed.

Wiped out from me.

Will the corners of my home always be gloomy? Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

